Card Rulings

In a kingdom full of zombies, wizards, exploding chickens, and a suspicious number of magical hats, things can get a little… complicated. Sometimes, two cards clash in unexpected ways. Sometimes a rule gets bent like a soggy scroll. And sometimes, you just need to know if a vampire can ride a frog while wielding a glitter cannon (spoiler: maybe).

That’s where this page comes in! Here you’ll find official rulings, clarifications, and answers to the most frequently asked questions about how cards interact. If something doesn’t make sense during a game... check here first. 

Etrik - Reduction Effect

Etrik’s creature effect says that while she’s on the battlefield, her controller may reduce the first life point loss done to them per turn. If you have two or three Etriks on the battlefield and you control them, the creature effect does not stack, and you would not prevent three life points from being lost from attacks. This is because each Etrick prevents the same, singular first life point loss per turn. 

Gudol - Damage Increase

Gudol’s creature effect says that when he attacks, he deals one extra damage. But that bonus only kicks in if his attack actually lands damage in the first place. If Gudol whiffs and deals no damage in an attack, there’s nothing to increase. It’s like trying to double your snacks when you didn’t bring any to begin with... no hit, no bonus!